shadowkat: (Default)
Question a Day Meme - March:

2. My mother taught me to get rid of hiccups by holding my breath and then swallowing three times. It works most of the time! How do you get rid of hiccups?

Either holding my breath or drowning myself (drinking water and holding my breath) - which a French teacher in Middle School taught me. It worked better and stayed longer with me than French did. Apparently she was better at teaching how to cure hiccups then French.

3. If you visit somewhere special, do you buy a small memento to bring home (such as a fridge magnet, keyring, ornament or something else)?

Not usually? Depends. I did buy a fridge magnet in Costa Rica, and when I visited Turkey - hand painted ceramic bowls (and over the years, all but two broke) and two rugs (because one always buys rugs when one visits Turkey). My mother used to bring back a doll - so we have a collection of dolls from various locals. (It was mine, but I left it with her.)

****

Feeling less gloomy today - which is odd, considering it's done nothing but drizzle all day long. Cold drizzle. Some sleet and hail. But mostly cold drizzle and rain. The sky looks like stained sheets. Gray. Gloomy. And soiled much like the snow beneath it. If I were watercoloring it - I'd use a dirty water wash.

But still less gloomy. Didn't keep me from dozing off at work - even though I'd slept better last night.

The internet keeps trying to scare me with misinformation, I keep ignoring it. The latest two bits were on Thread and FB, and I knew they were inaccurate because of where I happen to work.

The first? "New Yorkers have told to shelter in place, not leave their homes and are afraid to take the trains".

New Yorkers: eh, we all took the train this morning. They were crowded like usual. And no, no one has told us this.

Me: I work for a NY State transportation agency, specifically trains, and this is not true. They'd tell me before they would tell you.

The second? "This is happening, all New York Government employees have been given a emergency pamphlet on how to handle a nuclear crisis."

ME: Well no. I work for one, and crickets? We've received nothing and again, we'd get it before the Hudson Valley Times.

***

I was pondering today how it's the small incremental slights that people do to each other, without thinking, that build up over time - that hurt folks the most. A lot of suicides happen because of those slights. It's just hard to be kind to those that...hurt me. And harder still not to be paranoid about the slights.

***

Trying to figure out what to get myself for my birthday next week. I can't find a recliner that I like. Also, I have no idea where to put it - plus they all require assemblage. I can't assembly stuff right now. Maybe Orthofeet shoes? I need sneakers, and maybe either booties (it's spring soon, so maybe not) or slippers?

I did, however, manage to convince the Super to replace the light in my kitchen. Now, all the lights but the foyer have been replaced. I am less concerned about the foyer light - since I rarely use it. Now, I have a soft bright white light in the kitchen - that is supposed to last 13 years, is LED, and energy sufficient. (I bought new light bulbs, and have plenty. Anyone need a light bulb?)

Not sure what I'll watch post Angel S5. I'm considering rewatching either Veronica Mars, or maybe trying something I've not seen. I don't want to rewatch BSG - it's grim. Farscape is less grim, but is slow to start. Maybe Lost? Or I could go back to Foundation? I do want to see the rest of Monte Cristo, and maybe Maigret.
shadowkat: (Default)
Catching up on Question a Day Memage - End of February

26. When you leave your home, what essentials do you have with you?

If going to work? Purple backpack - with lunch, wallet, subway/work ID, book, pills for the day, kleenex, iphone, sometimes charger for headphones, headphones, smartwatch, pens, and umbrella, cloth grocery bags.

If not work - bag, with cloth grocery bags, wallet, phone.

27. Have you received a letter recently?

No.

28. Do you own many notebooks? What do you use them for?

Yes. Usually to write stories in, lists, journal, write down meds, notes for stories, character lists, sketches of people

And March 1:

1. Since 1990, Clean Up Australia Limited has sponsored a yearly Clean Up Australia Day. Have you ever taken part in a ‘clean up’ initiative where you live?

Yes. Years ago volunteered in a NY Cares Clean Up the Parks Day.

***

Sigh, I'm back to watching or rewatching Angel S5, Underneath. It's dialogue is better than most of the stuff currently on. Sad. But true.
And it made me laugh.

Tried Best Medicine, not bad. I may continue, don't know. Also tried How to get to Heaven from Belfast - which, well, I didn't like The Derry Girls, and it's by the same folks that did that? Rapid fire, heavy slang, Irish dialogue, loud, people screaming at each other at high velocity, and somewhat crude broad humor with annoying 30 something female characters that I'd run away from in reality? Subtle and witty - it's not. Reminds me a little of the same humor that's in Shameless? At any rate - it's not the best thing for someone recovering from a sinus infection or the sinus headache from hell?

And Count of Monte Cristo on PBS Passport - I may stay with this. It's the latest adaptation by the BBC, with Sam Clafin in the lead role and Jeremy Irons. The first episode was actually fairly good, so may stick with it.
shadowkat: (Default)
1. Finished watching a sweet Japanese film entitled Rental Family - starring Brendan Fraiser as a struggling American actor in Japan, who lands a gig with an organization that hires actors to play roles in real family dramas. The film is directed and produced by Hikari.

Here's the synopsis: mild spoilers )

I went in blind? But found it to be interesting and moving, dealing with the complexities of human nature/connection and cultural differences. I fell in love with the characters, cried at the end, and found it a moving antidote to the aggravated misanthropy I'd been feeling off and on lately.

It's playing for free on Hulu, if you want to give it a shot.


2. Also watched, much earlier in the week while ill, Ghostbusters: AfterLife - which is directed by Jason Reitman, and stars Carrie Coon, Paul Rudd, the kid who played Mike in Stranger Things, and two young kids who are actually pretty good in it (possibly the best things in it), and the remaining stars from the original making cameos.

It's okay? Coon and Rudd are underused. They did more with Sigourney Weaver and Rick Moranis in the original. The focus is of course on the kids, so think...Goonies meets Ghostbusters? I miss the 1980s films, where kids were utilized better, and there were better scripts, and far less focus on bad CJI. The effects were even better in the original flick. This felt kind of cheap in places (Muncher was definitely showing his age), and not quite as many ghosts. It also references the original a lot, without explaining it - so it kind of assumes you've seen the original Ghostbusters and remember it vividly? (I don't, so it took me a little while to figure a few things out, which I did - relatively quickly. So it's possible?)

It's also on Hulu.

3. Finished Bridgerton S4 - which had dropped the final episodes today. I didn't enjoy this season and used Rental Family as an antidote to my feelings of general misanthropic annoyance. It was aggravating to say the least and no, did not, provide the promised satisfying ending. If anything it wrapped it up a bit too quickly and neatly, and let the villainous step-mother off with barely a scratch.

It's the Cinderella trope or a reworking of it, which doesn't quite work for me. Read more... )

This season admittedly adapted the most controversial of the Julie Quinn Bridgerton romance novels, entitled "An Offer from a Gentleman". I'd hoped they'd change the novel, do to the controversy surrounding it, and make it a gay romance, since Benedict has been portrayed as bisexual. A m/m Cinderella trope would be have at least been different, and far more interesting. But alas, no. (I can see why - that's very hard to do in this sort of series and remain true to the historical romance genre. Also that's a lot for a writer to take on? A Cinderella class problem and a gay romance at the same time.). But in the end, the only thing they really changed was the ethnicity of the heroine, from what I know of the books (which is very little - I've not read them, nor plan to).

Bridgerton is actually a good example of the difficulty of book to television adaptations, and how they aren't always faithfully adapted, and sometimes that's a good thing, and sometimes not, depending on your perspective? The series is adapted from a popular 21st Century group of romance novels by Julie Quinn, surrounding a titled and wealthy family and their friends in Mayfair London. While it doesn't change a lot of the plots (outside of S3, which did veer away from the books a bit along with the whole Lady Whistledown thread), it does change a lot of bits and pieces of the world and historical period (dicey that - considering it's a regency romance series - albeit not necessarily a faithful one), also changes the genders, ethnicity, and sexual orientation of various characters in order to be inclusive, and for sly social commentary. I wouldn't say it is a biting social satire (Austen, it's not - few romances are), but it is a satire of manners. More politically correct Georgette Heyer, than Austen.
spoilers )


Oh, Netflix has grabbed a few series - it has all four seasons of Veronica Mars now, also West Wing, Grantchester, and various others.
shadowkat: (Default)
1. FB, Instagram, and Youtube want me to buy a Mellow Cloud Pillow for some absurd reason. I've been pummeled with ads on it on all three. The evil marketing people have figured out how to manipulate us into buying things via social media platforms. Must resist. Otherwise they win. I do not need a Mellow ergonomic pillow - also been there done that, and they never work for me.

2. After re-watching all of Buffy and up to Angel S5 Episode 17, I've picked up on a few things that I feel compelled to share...

* For a low-budget television series done in the 1990s-early 00s, and at a fast pace, with 22 episodes per season, not to mention being on the brink of cancellation? These series are brilliant in many ways - almost flawless in acting, stunts, special effects, and dialogue. Read more... )

* The best character arcs are - Spike on Buffy and Wes on Angel. And they both have one thing in common - outside of the fact that they are both in the Buffyverse - Whedon had no idea what he was going to do with either character, how they fit into the story, or plot. Interestingly enough? Whedon did carefully plot out all the others - specifically Cordelia and Willow, and was proud of it. But, ironically, Cordelia and Willow have the worst character arcs - neither quite works, both are clumsy, and both rely way too much on possession by an outside source and comic book gimmickry. (ie. Whedon spent too much time obsessing over Dark Phoenix for his own good.)
Read more... )
* Angel can't be redeemed because he's too busy fighting with himself to get anywhere. Read more... )

3. My soap opera is aggravating me, which is par for the course with soap operas, they tend to be that way by nature? I watch them because I get invested in various characters.

The Pitt, on the other hand, is excellent and my favorite television show at the moment. It's very comforting. Also it looks exactly like the ER's that I've been inside of in NYC. Certainly looks a lot like the one in NYU Langone. It's about problem solving in crisis mode. And shows a lot of kindness. Very nice antidote to my rising misanthropy - caused by a combination of factors, public transportation, crazy org, national news (the small scraps I get), and the soap opera. Also social media platforms (not this one - Dreamwidth is kind of an oasis in a sea of negativity and ads.).

4. A co-worker (Moscow Co-worker) sent the following article link to myself, Breaking Bad, and various other co-workers for our reading pleasure.

"For you reading pleasure (long article that spooked some people yesterday):"2028 Global Intelligence Crisis

To which Breaking Bad replied: "Way too long and technical for me."

Sigh. It is. It's also about how AI is taking away our jobs and evil tech revolution is taking away jobs ....reminds me of the industrial revolution.
No wonder it scared folks.

Actually, if you've studied history (specifically between 1870s-1980s) and have a mind for pattern recognition, you may realize how incredibly similar the two trajectories are. I'm not sure if that's comforting or not? Does kind of promote a feeling of general misanthropy and malaise. But hey, at least we know if things get worse than the height of the industrial revolution (that was the atomic bomb and WWI and II), we're all dead.

And on that happy note - I'm off to bed, hopefully to sleep and not dream overly much.
shadowkat: (Default)
1. Does anyone know of a really good tearjerker (preferably something I've not seen and doesn't cost anything). ie. A movie or television series that makes you sob or cry really hard? I'm trying to clear my sinuses, and a really good cry would aid in that tremendously.

I tried the Angel S5 Episodes A Hole in the World and Shells, but alas didn't help. Possibly because I'd seen them before, and I prefer Illyria and Illyria/Wes to Fred and Fred/Wes. I guess I could watch The Body again? But I re-watched recently, so not sure that would work.

2. Oh, weird take away from A Hole in the World (Whedon) and Shells (DeNight)? I preferred Shells, which was written and directed by Stephen DeKnight - that writer has the best written episodes overall, making me think I should try Spartacus at some point. Read more... )

3. Another weird tidbit -in response to a question about what he remembers most from filming the episode Smashed, in a recent Youtube Con Q&A, Marsters highlights the chandelier stunt (where Spike jumps onto the Chandelier and flies into Buffy?) - he wanted to do the stunt himself (because it would be a better take), but Jeff (the stunt coordinator) said no, no, that stunt is mine, I'm taking that one - and explained why. why actors do not do their own stunts unless they are insane )
The reason I love Marsters Q&A's and interviews - is he doesn't really talk about personal crap or himself all that much, he talks about the process of filming television series, theater, acting in various mediums, and the backstage or all the stuff that goes into creating a television series. I find what people do for a living fascinating - or the process of creating a work of art really interesting. (I'm not sure that's nerdy so much as geeky? Since I could care less about the minutia.)

4. I'm obviously feeling much better today. Even made it into work, which is a good thing - since my doctor's note stated I could come back today. the crazy ass process of getting sick time via Crazy Org or why I try to avoid it like the plague and considered using vacation time )

Still have it though. Read more... )
shadowkat: (Default)
Headache from hell seems to be lessening and I slept slightly better last night. Still wary of doing any floor or bed exercises even if I'm feeling less congested today than I did the last several days. (Note Aleve works better than Tynenol for this sort of thing.) So, I'll go back to work tomorrow. And from the emails, it's probably piled up. We'll see how much of it I get through, since my head still to some degree feels full of cotton.

Making tea now. I'd intended on doing laundry on Monday during the storm, but alas, was waylaid by the nauseous headache from hell. Haven't up to doing much of anything - outside of doing an urgent care appointment, getting my meds/groceries, and trying to sleep. Did do a few knee exercises.

The snow appears to be melting - from the view outside my windows. So it's not frozen solid like last time.

End of February Memage

22. What is your favourite writing implement – a fountain pen, ballpoint pen, pencil or something else?

Fountain Pen

23. Do you own many mirrors?

Yes, one - and it's turned to the wall in my bedroom and the back is broken off of it. The mirror itself is fine, it's just the siding and back covering that are coming off. I use it occasionally to see what to wear. Also a small bathroom mirror. I'm not a fan of mirrors - they tend to irritate me. I think it has something to do with how my brain processes information and flips things around, don't know.

24. What are you watching this month that you are enjoying?

I'm enjoying the soap opera (General Hospital) this month, more than most, Angel S5 rewatch, and The Pitt.

25. When was the last time the windows in your home were washed?

I don't have a house, and while I've washed the inside occasionally, I can't access the outside of the windows - so no clue.

***

Angel S5 Why We Fight and Smile Time - are kind of both about the same thing thematically speaking, just that Smile handles it better.
When Smile Time aired - way back in 2004, I was friends with a writer and her puppeteer husband, who were in turn close friends with the puppeteers on Smile Time. Read more... )

The episode "Smile Time" is among the best of the series. It basically encapsulates all the themes of the season and series with just a few images. Angel is too busy fighting himself to really get anywhere. And,
when he was starting to get somewhere with Doyle and Cordy, then Wes and Cordy - WRH found a way to manipulate him, Cordy and Wes. The noir theme in a nutshell - the hero always falls into the abyss - and more often than not it is of his own making.

Read more... )

Why We Fight is rather clunky in comparison. Read more... )
shadowkat: (Default)
Did Virtual Urgent Care - who proscribed antibiotics for the sinus infection that I appear to have - congestion that won't go away, made worse by the storm - resulting in the sick sinus headache from hell (which has a sort of vertigo as a symptom). I got a doctor's note for returning to work by Thursday, 2/26/26.

Ventured out around 4pm to pick up antibiotics from the pharmacy - wasn't bad considering the pharmacy is about six short blocks from my apartment.
They've plowed the roads, and cleared for the most part the sidewalks. There's puddles in places, and some areas are narrower than others - depends on whether it was a professional building maintenance person, or a home owner. Home owners suck at shoveling city sidewalks for the most part.
Although they did a better job with this storm than the last one - most likely because the city threatened them with sizable fines if they didn't do it.

I wanted to go back to work today - but I only slept three hours last night, even though I went to bed early. Was up all night with the nauseous headache, which made the room spin and came in waves. I went to lie down - it started. I couldn't even sleep sitting up. Standing I was fine. Or sitting on the edge of the bed. Finally, after a sneezing fit, lots of nose blowing, two more mezcline, and decogestants - it cleared a bit for sleep. But I felt horrible the next morning and gave up. Was going to use vacation time - decided sick time made more sense - I'm sick. And I've got more sick time than vacation time.

***

I finished watching All Creatures Great and Small S6 on PBS Passport, and might start up on Miss Scarlet or Maigret again. It didn't require much focus. I couldn't concentrate on anything until now - due to the headache. Last night, if I thought about anything at all - I got nauseous. It was frustrating and weird. It's a cozy series - All Creatures Great and Small - reminds me a little of Call the Midwife. I think the original might have been slightly better and more realistic, but I don't really remember the original that well? I read the books in the third and fourth grades.

Also working my way through Angel S5 - the Spike and Wes episodes so far are the better ones. Read more... )

Damage and Soul Purpose are the better episodes in this grouping. Read more... )

Off to get something to eat.
shadowkat: (Default)
Good news? The storm has more or less ended and with it - my vertigo or so it appears. (I'm not tried to lie down flat as of yet, so hopefully it won't flare up when I go to bed.) So I will probably manage to navigate the mounds of snow to make it into work tomorrow. I don't really have an excuse - since I've got snow boots, and I take the subway, and it's located in the Financial District. Now, if I still worked in Jamaica and had to take the Long Island Rail Road into work that would be a different story - at last report, it was still suspended.

I'll probably make it in and not have a lot to do - because half my work place will be snowbound out on Long Island, including my boss. Although per Outlook - I think they all worked remotely. I couldn't. Vertigo was too bad. It's better now. I'm hoping it continues to improve. God, I hate vertigo.

Below is a "privileged education meme" that vaguely reminds me of a game I once played at church. If you were given certain opportunities - you advanced, if not you took two steps backwards. Myself and my friend at the time MD (who is a Black woman) were both ahead, as were a few young Black women and young men, while the old white British guy, his white Jewish wife, and the old white guys born in the 1940s were at the back. It seemed to divide itself more along class and generational lines then race?

Privileged Education Meme )


Off to find something for dinner.
shadowkat: (Default)
So the snowstorm was/is Bomb Cyclone - which I learned ages ago from an allergist -will play havoc on anyone with sinus issues.

A bomb cyclone according to the National Weather Service is : "or the meteorological term "bombogenesis," refers to the central pressure of a low-pressure system dropping at least 24 millibars within 24 hours.

Most bomb cyclones happen off the East Coast, which typically sees about one of these intense storms each year. In the Northeast, they form when there’s a sharp temperature contrast usually between a cold continental air mass meeting the warmer waters of the Atlantic Ocean.

This temperature difference, combined with a strong jet-stream disturbance that forces air upward, sets the stage for bombogenesis. Many nor’easters actually fall into this category, as cold air from Canada collides with the warm Gulf Stream, creating a perfect recipe for explosive storm growth."

The reason it plays havoc on sinus issues - is the barometric pressure drops. The fluid in the head shifts - placing pressure on the inner ear, resulting in vertigo.

It gave me non-stop vertigo, which I've been battling with prescription Dramamine to combat dizziness and nausea. It's kind of like seasickness, if you've never experienced it? But on land.

I went to bed, lay down, the room began to spin, frak that, I slept sitting up. As long as I was upright, not moving my head too much, I was fine. I'm hoping it is gone by tonight. It should be - since I think it is storm related.

Oh well, it could be worse - I could be homeless with vertigo, or stuck in an airport or bus depot with it, and no pills to take for it. (They work just not as well as I'd like? Work better when it is mild and well, we aren't in the middle of a bomb cyclone, and I didn't have a cold the previous week. But they did keep the nausea and vomiting at bay.)

The storm is still going by the way. It's been going since roughly 10 pm last night. Although it's no longer a blizzard.

Currently or as of 10 a.m. Monday (it's about 11:42 AM now and yes still snowing):https://www.nbcnewyork.com/weather/weather-stories/how-much-snow-totals-inches-nyc-long-island-nj-accumulation-blizzard/6467598/




It's shut NYC down almost completely. The Mayor was smart though - he cancelled all schools, declared a travel ban, and the Governor informed government agencies to keep all non-essential employees home, for remote work, if possible. They have a Full Snow Day for the first time in years (no remote), public transportation has shut down in places, and the travel ban was extended to about 6pm. It's 31 F, and feels like 6 F.

Transit Adjustments )

https://ny1.com/nyc/all-boroughs/news/2026/02/23/what-s-open-closed-nyc-snow-storm-feb-2026

[ETA: The travel ban in NYC has been lifted, but with the caveat that people should drive slowly and with caution.]

"As of 10 a.m. Sunday, Feb. 22, more than 11,200 flights in and out of the U.S. were canceled or delayed.

In the New York City area, disruptions were widespread. At John F. Kennedy International Airport, 42% of departing flights were canceled, along with 7% delayed. Incoming flights were hit even harder, with 63% canceled and 2% delayed."

- https://www.lohud.com/story/weather/2026/02/22/nyc-airports-hit-by-massive-cancellations-ahead-of-blizzard-see-live-flight-status/88762935007/

Vertigo hasn't gone, unfortunately, but the medication has helped a bit.

So how's your day going so far?

shadowkat: (Default)
Crazy Org is prepping for the snow armageddon or snow-hurricane that is set to hit us around midnight tonight. My sinuses and head can feel it coming - I've been struggling with a sick sinus headache all day long, along with vertigo - the only thing keeping it at bay are medications. (antihistimine for vertigo, decongestant (that you can take if you have high blood pressure), and migraine meds.). So far it's kind of working. I did fall asleep while watching All Creatures Great and Small on PBS Passport around 2pm. ( I decided to donate to PBS - and got access to the app again, at least for the year. If you donate more than $60, you can use the PBS Passport app.)

The Mayor issued a "travel ban" effective at 9pm today (Sunday) and the Long Island Rail Road suspended service, and Crazy Org (major public transportation agency) has advised its non-essential office workers - that you can tele-work from home if you are set up for it or in the program. (I'm not in the program (union) nor am I certain I have the set up any longer - since they've changed the security protocols again - but I've already chosen to take a personal day or vacation day - since the vertigo is hovering in the background and will be an issue. I have enough left that it won't be an issue.)
Read more... )


I've been binge-watching All Creatures Great and Small - S6, napping, and fending off a vertigo headache for most of the day. I did go to the grocery store around 1 pm (before the storm really hit - and it was just drizzling) to pick up olive oil, coconut oil, honey, Mrs Dash seasoning, toilet paper, chocolate, and recycling bags and trash bags.
Also spoke to mother. Apparently it's raining in Ohau, Hawaii, and almost spring in Montana (according to my niece) , which has received hardly any snow, the plants are springing to life, and the temperatures are in the fifties and sixties. It's also in the 60s in Hilton Head, SC. Sounds lovely. I want to be there. It's 31 F here and rapidly dropping, and snowing.

Now, have decided to try cubicle mate rec'd "Start-Up". [ETA: tried, gave up (I found the guy tied to the chair with barbed wire a bit much) and the woman wanting to do a crypto start up annoying - plus I am not an Adam Brody fan). Went back to watch Angel S5.]
shadowkat: (Default)
Well, I've accomplished a few things at least. Got up early enough to do my knee exercises, eat breakfast, and get distilled water for the humidifier/Nosh Steam Oven, and veggies/fruit, paper towels, and other mildly essential groceries. When I was putting said groceries away, the kitchen light decided to burn out. I notified the super - that it needs to be replaced (I have light bulbs). And transferred the small lamp that I have in the living room to the kitchen. It fits. So it will work for the interim. (Oh to have a ladder and a handy person to fix it - because I can't do it without killing myself. Tempting. But no. Mother would miss me. And knowing me - I wouldn't die, I'd just critically injure myself.)

Finished my taxes (although it cost me more to do them this year than my actual refund, also I have to pay NY State, damn it). tax hell )

It was nice weather today - in the upper thirties and forties, high about 45 degrees F (which is practically balmy considering the temps we've been having in NYC this winter). And the grocery store - was surprisingly sparse, not as many customers as expected, considering a big storm is moving in. (People are procrastinators - so they all probably came late in the day or tomorrow.)

I'm trying not to fret too much about the upcoming hellish winter storm. Breaking Bad warned me, but it didn't register and I didn't get it - I was overwhelmed with work this week - being blind sighted by C leaving. (C tracks everything for us and is my liaison with the project team, also one of the few people I can talk to.) Her last day was Friday. So, I was kind of discombobulated, and recovering from a head cold, so didn't pick up on the fact that a huge winter storm was coming on Sunday night. Figured it out when I got home - and saw the weather report. We're supposed to have blizzard conditions between 1 am and 10 am on Monday. I don't know if I can get to work in that? I walk and take the subways, which are above and below ground?
Read more... )

I really wish the storm hit Friday night into Saturday instead, like last time. When I actually did take Monday off.

Dinner was "shrimp, brussel sprouts, and aspergus in the air fryer" - seasoned with red pepper, teriaki, fauk garlic salt (this is amazing on shrimp and veggies), and Mrs. Dash. (Which I need to get more of at some point.)

Also watched both Destiny and Harm's Way of Angel S5 rewatch. Picked up on the following:

Read more... )

***

Question a Day - February Meme:

18. What is your favourite shellfish dish (if you have one)?

Lobster, preferably with melted butter, and lemon.

19. Have you ever worn false eyelashes or had eyelash extensions?

No. Or not that I recall? I might have - I have a vague memory of trying to do that - and it not working, and being a mess. Makeup and me are kind of unmixy things - particularly eye-makeup. I can do foundation but that's it.

20. Are you a fan of mayonnaise in a sandwich (either egg-based or vegan)?

No.

Read more... )

21. When was the last time you heard music played live (at a concert, in a musical)?

The Broadway musical SMASH this past summer.

I'm not really a live concert person, I'm a live theater person. I like sitting in a seat and watching folks dance, sing, act, and tell a story on stage.
shadowkat: (Default)
I've finally reached my favorite episode of Angel - Destiny. It's the episode in which Spike and Angel fight for the fake vampire shanshu. I love that episode. Plan on watching tonight or tomorrow night - time permitting.

Rumor has it that Hulu/Disney is waiting for Buffy the Vampire Slayer's 3oth Anniversary - which is next year, to air "Buffy: New Sunnydale". That will be my 60th year on this planet. I was roughly 27 when Buffy first aired. I'd moved to NYC one year prior. And I was watching it live - didn't own a VHS at the time, DVD's didn't exist yet and there was no such thing as streaming. You missed an episode? You prayed for reruns. (And Fox eventually replayed all the episodes of Buffy right before the new episodes aired.) Online fandom back then - was difficult to find, and scattered among various websites, with hidden fan boards. I didn't discover it until November 2001, and fell down the fandom rabbit hole, and haven't really resurfaced since.

**

Feeling much better. Not coughing hardly at all, and not blowing my nose, and no runny eyes. Still wore the mask to and from work, but I'm starting to back off of it.

But have leg cramping and digestive issues tonight. Hmm. I had chickpea mac and cheese, with brussel sprouts, celery, carrots, and broccoli in the air fryer. Maybe too much for the stomach? Sigh.

Eh, no time left. Will do the Question a Day Mememage tomorrow or Saturday.
shadowkat: (Default)
Finding myself redefining patience of late. I've managed to sink into a routine of not thinking, and just ambling through to the tune of Pink Floyd's Comfortably Numb.

Right now, half watching the pilot episode of The Rockford Files - Backlash of the Hunter (it's available on Amazon Prime, Roku and Friendly TV), which aired on March 24, 1974, and co-starred a very young Lindsey Wagner - before Bionic Woman. James Garner has an effortless charm, chiseled good looks, and is the best thing in it. It was created by Stephen J Cannel, who did a lot of these sort of action/mystery series. It's kind of a Sam Spade/Raymond Chandler light PI series. My father loved it.Read more... ) This was one of the better 1970s television series, but it has bland dialogue, which Garner does his best with - better than the supporting actors. (The series gets better ones as it goes). But alas, I've been watching Angel which has better dialogue and is a lot more compelling - this is kind of boring and I don't really care? It reminds me a lot of the writing/direction and acting in Poker Face actually. I remember watching a lot of these shows in the 20th Century and early 21st. It doesn't date well in regards to sexual orientation - uses words like queer in a derogatory manner. (Welcome to 1970s network television!) Also not very diverse in its casting, although more so than other shows on at the time.

Cold is getting better, I think? But I cancelled the second PT appointment - Friday's. Mainly because I don't want to hurt anyone who may be sensitive to germs - and they frown on you coming to their offices with a cough or runny nose. Work isn't an issue - I'm not near anybody at the moment, and only have to mask in public areas (break room, halls, lobby, restroom, and the trains/platforms). And I'm not coughing enough for it to be an actual problem. Although I think this is probably just allergies or a cold. Since switching off the bedroom radiator helped tremendously. I'm taking plenty of Mucinex, cough drops, antihistamines, etc. Runny nose, eyes, and a persistent cough. Also, a sense of being out of breath, tired, and lack of appetite. But other than that, fine. Doesn't prevent me from eating chocolate, unfortunately.

Bee aka cubical mate was discussing a new television show that she'd binged over the weekend and couldn't stop watching - with someone. I kept trying to figure out what it was? She mentioned people starting a company, the FBI hunting them down, insane things happening, and it being kind of twisted in places, and fast paced. Also way off her radar.

I sat there for fifteen minutes trying to figure it out. Gave up. Tried to convince myself not to ask. Gave up. Curiosity killed the cat and all that?

Me: What's the television show that you are discussing?
Bee: I'm about to go on another call, but, it's Start-up.

Start Up??? I look it up. Or rather google "Start Up Television Show". (Weirdly Bing or my work browser has it only on Apple TV and Prime, while Google and Firefox show it is on Netflix. Work browser is not accurate and often brings up different things than home browser. I work on a PC, and at home on a Mac. I'm computer versatile.)

When she gets off the phone - I ask her if it's the one with Martin Freeman playing the FBI agent Rask, and about crypto. She pauses to think and says yes. And she's watching it on Netflix.

I tell her - that I'll try it - but does it require a lot of focus? She says yup. So, I may have to wait - I'm watching old television shows for a reason? Also, my ability to focus on a television series right now is about at the level of Bridgerton. I need characters I love, good dialogue, and plots that aren't too convoluted.

Has anyone else seen "Start Up"? Is it any good? It's an older series - 2016-2018.

I am having the same issues with reading at the moment. I'll read a page and have to re-read it more than once sometimes. So, I'm listening to "Twelve Months" the latest in the Dresden Files series by Jim Butcher, narrated by James Marsters. And still reading The Botanist's Assistant on the train, and various digital comic books.

All I want to do is stare into space and think about nothing. I think it's a combination of the cold, NYC in February, the weather, work, and my knees. And not having much to look forward to at the moment? The knees are slowly getting better or stronger. The exercises appear to be working - and I am doing them every day. At least once a day. So there's that.

Off to do something else.
shadowkat: (Default)
Spent thirty dollars, and over two hours in City MD urgent care - only to discover what I pretty much already knew? It's a head/chest cold, not the flu nor COVID. (Whew) Means I can work the rest of the week - without having to take sick time. YAY!

Side-effect? I find myself paralyzed with not caring all that much about anything. Apathy has kind of sunk in to stay. Head colds can do that. Well head colds, gray days, fluctuating weather/temperatures, and bad knees.

Ah, the February Uglies, appear to be here to stay.

Question a Day Memage

17. Chinese New Year begins today, and festivities continue until March 3rd – the year of the Fire Horse. What animal are you born under in Chinese astrology?

Happy Lunar New Year or Chinese New Year? It's the Year of the Horse, which I guess is slightly better than the year of the snake? Oh, and apparently not just any old Horse, but the Year of the Fire Horse for the first time in 60 years.

Article Links )


I'm the year of the Fire Goat - Here's an article explaning it: the Year of the Fire Goat.

***

Got to work, and found out a key member of our team is leaving for another job, her last day is Friday. It's not good news for any of us. She was a consultant - so it is Crazy Org's fault she is leaving. Stupid Crazy Org.
Although honestly, I'm finding it hard to care at the moment?

Got home, discovered the apartment was 80-81 degrees F, it's 41 degrees F outside. I decided the radiator heat was making me ill - that and having to open the windows. Had to turn on the A/C and a window fan to get the apartment to cool down. But the super did close the valve on the radiator in the bedroom again (finally). So this should help tremendously. Since I could find an air purifying fan - this was my best bet. PT - I had to cancel, because of the head and chest cold. I may call them tomorrow to see if they allow people to show up with a cold? I doubt it. But it doesn't hurt to ask.

Wore a mask on the subway and at work - in the common or public areas. The doctor said I could go to work - just to mask up. I envy folks who can work remotely. I only could during the pandemic. Although I probably need the human interaction.

***

On Angel Rewatch S5 Lineage (Wes centric episode) - Greenwalt stated at the Angel Reunion in 2018 - that they didn't know what to do with Wes's character - and as a result he had one of the best arcs. This is a pattern with both series? The characters that weren't planned or they had no idea what to do with initially - have the best arcs. Spike, Fred, Wes, Anya, Lilah, Lindsey, Darla. While the characters they'd planned out - not as great an arc. I think the writers were more intuitive and not great planners. Which actually? Explains a lot?

Also, apparently Charisma had a crush on Denisof who played Wes. But as she puts it - "Aly wanted him." Actually even if Aly hadn't, Charisma didn't have a chance in hell - Denisof didn't date cast mates. He turned down Aly until he left Buffy and they were on separate shows. (As Marsters put it in a podcast - never ever date a member of the cast.)

Amber states that she accidentally gave Aly some tongue in one of their kissing scenes - and Aly was shocked, and per Amber, probably sweated the most in her life. (Amber does not say it in a complimentary manner.) Per Emma (Anya) - James (Spike) was the most adept at kissing, Tony was okay, and Brendan...well, he had a habit of eating disgusting onion and fish sandwiches prior. (There were practical jokers on the set - Brendan, Charisma, Sarah, and David.)

After watching the 2018 reunion, and various Q&A's including the one I watched on Monday? I am beginning to believe the rumor that Amber and Hannigan didn't get along nor liked each other. Read more... )

No matter what I do? Every ten years - I get sucked back into the Buffy fandom. I don't know why. I blame the internet. Bad internet.
shadowkat: (Default)
Sigh, I think this is a nasty cold? At any rate, I cancelled tomorrow's PT, because they always ask if I've had a cough or fever recently, and I have the cough. Hopefully I can keep Friday's. And scheduled more into March.

Can't avoid work - they require a doctor's note and a form filled out. And that costs $25 or $30 - because the Doctor insists on a virtual. So, I'm going tomorrow - if it gets worse? I'll go to urgent care, pay the co-payment, and get the doctor's note/form signed. Also, they frown on taking a sick day next to a holiday. And we wonder why viruses spread?

***

After finishing the Buffy Re-watch - I want more Buffy (and all the other characters). But at least I get Season 5 - Angel, which I'm about five episodes into. It's worst episode is still better than many of the episodes in Angel's early seasons. They hit their stride in Season 5 and embraced the noir trope. It also handles the case of the week slightly better, and is less repetitive. Shame Angel didn't get more seasons. (It didn't because the WB decided to go with Dark Shadows (which failed), then merged with UPN to become the CW, and greenlight the far less enjoyable and far more formulaic series.

I re-watched the reunion specials, the Sci-Fi Panel Special after S6 and in 2002 (didn't make it very far), the Paley in 2008, and the 20th Reunion Photo Shoot in 2017. Also a few scattered Q&A's with Anya, Warren, Tara, and Cordy. And the Angel Reunion in 2018 (again didn't make it that far).

Take-aways?

It's very odd to watch this stuff after everything that has come out about Whedon and the writers room since then.
Read more... )

Poor actors, they probably don't realize people are recording these things and saving them to youtube for posterity.

Off to bed. Hopefully this thing gets better and not worse.
shadowkat: (Default)
I'm hoping that this is just allergies and I'm not actually coming down with anything? Hard to know. But my throat feels scratchy and I'm more fatigued than usual. Also having issues focusing on things.

Just finished watching the Springsteen bio-pic, "Deliver me from Nowhere" which is about Springsteen's bout with depression while writing and producing the album's Nebraska and Born in the U.S.A. It's a weirdly comforting film - in that it shows how depression can kind of hit anyone from anywhere and you can be pulled out of it. And how it seeps through the cracks, and is always a battle. Springsteen was lucky - in that he was able to find help and hope to pull him out of it, and much of his depression was tied to unresolved childhood parental traumas. Also the album he almost killed himself trying to create and get produced, Nebraska, was in fact a hit.

Kind of inspiring in its own way. I also like Bruce Springsteen's music, which probably helps. And alas, I kept drifting off to sleep during it, which means I may not sleep tonight.

Question a Day Meme - February catch-up

13. What’s the weather like today? Is it about average for the time of year?

It's currently snowing and 34 degrees F, and yes, this is typical for this time of year in NYC.

Just when it was beginning to melt.

14. How many flights of stairs would you consider walking up in a building, or do you always take the lift/elevator?

Right now? I try to take the elevator whenever possible. Bad knee. But, it's not always possible - so at least twice maybe three times a day commuting to and from work - I'm climbing four to six flights of steps. Stupid city is into steps.

15. Have you ever considered how you would leave your home in an emergency?

Probably through the front door - since the fire escape is just scary.

16. Do you own your own washing machine in your home, or do you use a laundry service/laundry room in the building or a launderette?

It's an apartment complex - so there's a laundry room in the basement with four washers and three industrial size dryers - that we share with people in 81 other units. Amazingly enough that is actually possible - partly because some folks send it out, and not everyone is around all the time.
shadowkat: (Default)
Finished my Buffy Rewatch finally - and forgot how good the finale was, all things considered. They had a lot of character plot threads to juggle and somehow managed to land most of them. That and a lot of unnecessary back stage drama, burned out writers and exhausted actors.

Weird tid-bit? The "I Love You/No You Don't" exchange between Buffy and Spike in Chosen, isn't repeated in the flashback of it on Angelin S5 Episode 2. Read more... )

Re-watching it - it's kind of obvious to me that she's telling him that she really loves him, while he's saying - hey, don't do that again, go live your life. Read more... )

Anya - actually isn't completely forgotten - Xander looks for her, and he asks Andrew what happened to her, and Andrew tells him that Anya fought valiantly and saved him. Her character also gets a sense of closure - in that she and Andrew kind of bond, and Anya is showing bonding with guy, without sex being in the offing.

The writers do a good job of wrapping up all of the characters arcs neatly.
Even Faith and Wood. And they didn't kill off all of the potentials with speaking parts. It is interesting that it is only Dawn looking out of the back of the bus for Buffy. And Buffy says barely anything at the very end.
She jumps off the bus and looks back out over the crater, which she watched as she rode the top of the bus out of town and away from the carnage.
Read more... )

I enjoyed S7 far more than I remembered. It's main flaw was too many characters and group scenes. But I'm not sure how they could have fixed it without losing track of the theme. Also, it fell into comic book plotting and comic book plot devices here and there. The Scythe is very comic bookish as is the Guardian who pops up out of nowhere. Both are connections to Whedon's comic book Fray - which he wrote and published around the same time S7 aired, and was clearly attempting (poorly) to connect the two. He continues to attempt to connect the two with the Buffy comics (which doesn't quite work). Fray was NOT that good a comic. But they kind of needed the Scythe to get out of the corner they'd written themselves into.

Angel S4 in comparison - kind of lays there like a limp noodle. (The actors on Angel didn't get paid as much as they did on Buffy - by the way. Nor did they make anywhere near the amount the folks on Bones were making.)
If Buffy had a lot of unnecessary back stage drama - Angel had it too, in spades. Whatever was going on between the show-runners, the studio, and Charisma/David Greenwalt - was affecting moral on set. VK states the series felt like a job that no one was really invested in and kind of tired of. The difficulty with Angel S4 was Connor and Cordelia. Mainly Cordelia. It does work thematically as a counterpoint to Buffy. Angel unlike Buffy - has to be the one to save the world, and doesn't necessarily share how. The series is neo-noir in nature, and in that type of series - the hero always inadvertently falls into the abyss while attempting to escape from it, and often pulls the world in after him. The gang is brought briefly together, then broken apart. At the end of the season - they don't trust each other, and are only still together because they have no where else to go. Angle unlike Buffy, doesn't inspire or empower anyone, and clearly cares mainly about Connor. (Kind of annoyingly, actually. The rest of the characters are clearly fed up with it and wish Connor would just go away.)
Read more... )
shadowkat: (Default)
I should do my taxes but I am procrastinating. But I need to do it, so that Turbo Tax will stop nudging me to do it. I miss the days in which everyone trying to sell me something didn't have my email address.

Knee has been bugging me off and on today - I did laundry and alas, had to stand to do it. For a long while. My knees don't like it when I stand for longer than ten minutes. I stood for thirty. Suffice to say? They weren't happy campers.

Television Bits and Pieces:

David Boreanze cast as the lead in the Rockford Files Reboot by NBC

cut )

Can we just not? I told mother, who loved the Rockford Files when it first aired.. in the mid-70s, actually, I enjoyed them in reruns and whenever I saw it at night. And my father loved it - it was among his favorite shows. For those who don't know what it is? It was a private detective series, featuring a down-on-his-luck PI. Reminded me a little of the Trevor McGee mysteries.

Me: So they are rebooting the Rockford Files, you'll never guess who they cast in the lead..
Mother: probably not.
Me: David Boreanze - the guy who played Angel.
Mother: Ugh. You've got to be kidding me? Well, that's one show I will definitely not be watching. Boreanze is all wrong for the part - he doesn't have the sense of humor that Garner had.

True. James Marsters has that same dead pan sense of humor, as does Nathan Fillion and Jensen Anckles, not David Boreanze.

Oh well, at least this means that it is highly unlikely that he'll appear in the Buffy Sequel.

But I really wish they wouldn't reboot "good" old television series. There's a list of classic television series that should NEVER be rebooted: Rockford Files, Gunsmoke, the Original Star Trek, The Prisoner, MASH, Fraiser, Hill Street Blues, Homicide Life on the Street, ER, LA Law, St. Elsewhere, Gilmore Girls, Friends, I Love Lucy, Happy Days, Laverne and Shirley, Mork and Mindy, Rhoda, The Mary Tyler Moor Show, The Dick Van Dyke Show, Buffy the Vampire Slayer, Angel, Supernatural... leave the classics alone folks. Come up with something original?

I don't necessarily mind sequels? Although I'm not watching Scrubs (I barely watched the original.).

***

Almost done with the Buffy S7 rewatch, yet woefully behind on the Angel S4 one. Mainly because Angel S4 kind of goes off the rails post Orpheus, and I find it hard to watch? (All the character plot holes give me a headache.) Read more... )

Buffy S7's problem is too many characters, while Angel's is comic book/soap plotting that kind of gets garbled in translation. I can see why the network was flirting with cancelling Angel in S4.
Buffy S7 Empty Places to part of End of Days )

Off to make something for dinner. I don't know what, but I'll come up with something. Maybe salmon with broccoli.
shadowkat: (Default)
1. Snagged from colls - "You can help NASA classify telescope images of
galaxies, helping researchers identify very distant
galaxies and black holes and distinguish real signals
from noise. Each classification takes about a minute,
and tutorials guide you every step of the way."

Here's How

I don't know about anyone else? But I'm certainly tempted.

2. RIP James Van Der Beek aka Dawson from Dawson's Creek. He died of cancer at the age of 48. It was announced multiple times on the news this morning. He apparently had six kids - which, well, virile?
Read more... )
3. Work and public transportation and this week (starting with Sunday)...have made me want to avoid people for the next four days (and since I'm taking Friday off and have Monday off as a paid Federal Bank Holiday - I can do that). To further this? I rescheduled my hair appointment for May. (Well that, and I can't handle going up and down four flights of steps on Monday, with this knee. I need more time. I'm hoping by May, I can do it without too much pain.)
Read more... )

4. Question a Day Memage February:

12. Do you have any siblings?

Yes. One. A younger brother. Who has gifted me with a beautiful niece.
Siblings are a double-edged thing - both gift and curse, those who have them probably know whereof I speak?

5. People are using AI...to help with commenting on various sites - with ahem amusing results? ( Or it's bots, can't decide.)
Where I'm complimented for my excellent story-telling abilities in...writing film reviews?? )

Sigh, people continue to bewilder me?
shadowkat: (Default)
Mother told me all about what my niece is up to. Apparently she has a new boyfriend - a California Forest Ranger, who she met last year. (She's also living with a guy, but he's not her boyfriend, and he's apparently writing a book for his thesis - it's not clear if it is fiction or non-fiction. I'm guessing non-fiction?) And she's come up with an idea for an investigative journalism piece on the political corruption surround fire retardation use and how forest fires are put out or not as the case may be. Her advisor is excited about it - he wants her to pursue journalism and writing. (She's an excellent writer). Statistics is causing her difficulty though - apparently no one in our immediate family has the math gene? She finds calculus and statistics boring, and it doesn't make a lot of sense. (I can relate.)

Feeling rather bored and apathetic with my own life at the moment, not helped by the bad knee, which refuses to get better and makes it difficult to do much of anything but get to and from work, and the occasional errand (including physical therapy). It still hurts. Although my physical therapist, Vishanti, appears to think it is getting stronger and better, so there's that at least. Also, it's warming up - a little outside?
It reached a rather balmy 41 degrees F today, and a low of 29 F.

After some negotiation - I finally managed to convince the Super to turn off the sparkling brand new radiator that they installed in my kitchen. It's black. It takes up more space than I'd like? But I think I can fit a small cabinet in front of it. And since it's turned off - I cancelled my purchase of the window fan. Also it's not quite as warm in the apartment at the moment as it was last night, which made it difficult to sleep. Although the radiators are blasting now - so that could always change?

Every day on my commute, I run across old homeless folks. Today, it was an old white woman, who looked a bit like a gnome. Read more... )

Sometimes I think - if I can just help one person in this world. Then maybe the rest won't matter? See? George Bailey moment. [If you don't get it? Look it up. We have the internet - it's easy. Hint: it's a cultural reference from a 1940s Christmas Movie starring Jimmy Stewart. ;-)].

***

Question a Day Meme

8. How often do you read fiction?

95% of the time. I also write it. And tell it in my head. And listen to it on audio-book, and read graphic novels or comics that are fictional.

I read non-fiction for work. Fiction for pleasure.

9. This year is the 40th anniversary of the release of the film Ferris Bueller’s Day Off – have you ever seen it? Bueller…. Bueller…. Bueller…..

Yes. I saw it in the movie theater when it first came out - admittedly with the wrong person (my mother - which ahem, not a movie to see with one's mother). And numerous times on television.

40 years? Damn. I feel old. It was, I think, a 1980s John Hughes film. John Hughes was the King of teen flicks in the 1980s, he, Francis Ford Coppola and a few others - kind of redefined teen cinema.

It grated though - because I identified a bit too much with Ferris' sister.
That said? Required back to back viewing is Ferris Bueller's Day Off and Election - where Broderick is the stumbling adult, to Reese Witherspoon's ambitious and annoying teen.

10. Have you ever owned a Tamagotchi?

I had to look it up - because I had no clue what it was. So clearly no.

Tamagotchi can be found here. Hint? It kind of reminds me of the electronic version of what they were trying to give out in the Buffy Episode Bad Eggs. If it had been electronic - Bad Eggs would have gone VERY differently.

11. Would you consider yourself superstitious?

Not really. I might flirt with it - but I am a born skeptic. I question everything. So no, not superstitious.
Page generated Mar. 23rd, 2026 12:20 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios